2017 Jury Members

The seven jury members for the international exhibition of the biennale are renowned professionals who activate in the contemporary ceramics field: artists, curators and managers. The jury will evaluate the online applications to select the inniatial candidates and then select the winning works. The jury may also provide critical comments to the public and media regarding the selections. The jury’s decisions are final and, given the nature of this event, contesations cannot be accepted.

The jury members for the 2017 Cluj International Ceramics Biennial are:

Kim Yong Moon (South Korea)
Artist, writer, founder of Macstabal Wood Firing Festival in China, Korea and Turkey. Guest instructor at Hacettepe University, Turkey.

Mehmet Tuzum Kizilcan (Turkey)
Artist, member in the organizing comitee for International EgeArt Days, Art Director for Sant Kolonisi Simposium Kusadasy, Ceramic Teacher at EgeArt and Dokuz Eylul Universitie.

Vilma Villaverde (Argentina)
Artist, Council Member at International Academy of Ceramic (representative for South America), Teacher at Fine Arts University in Obera, Misiones.

David Jones (Great Britain)
Artist, Council member at International Academy of Ceramics (representative for Great Britain, Ireland, Benelux), Senior Lector at University of Wolverhampton.

James Clark (USA)
Artist, curator, writer, ceramic teacher, former Executive Director of the Clay Studio, Philadelphia for 16 years and Director of Peter Valley Craft Center, New Jersey.

Jacque Kaufmann (France)
Artist, President of International Academy of Ceramics (representative for France) Teacher at L’ecole Superior d’Arts Apliques de Vevey (1994-2014)

Cristina Popescu Russu (Romania)
Artist, founder and coordinator at Galateea Ceramics Gallery, collaborator Art Magazine, member of International Academy of Ceramics.